Our Archive

Welcome to your Archive. This is your all post. Edit or delete them, then start writing!

Roles provide a great way for you to restrict what someone can see and edit within their account.  Unlike Assigned Project and Default Project, this applies to the individual module.  It’s a great way to ensure that someone isn’t viewing data they should not have access to or showing too many menu options that may confuse certain employees.

The Roles can be configured and created within Menu > Company Settings > Roles.

 

You have three options:

  1. Edit an existing Role that we provide.
  2. Create a new Role from scratch.
  3. Copy an existing Role so that minor tweaks can be made to the copied Role.

 

We have a great video here regarding Roles: https://vimeo.com/326601718

 

Once you are creating or editing a Role, you will see a list at the top right that indicates what each option provides one selected.  As an example… if you do not want your User (who may be a laborer) to see or have anything to do with Invoices, set their role to No Access.  Also, if you have an employee who is only using the Time Card feature, setting the other modules to No Access hides them from the menu so that the User doesn’t act confused by the many options on the menu.  If you want them to be able to only see their Time Cards, set it to “Full Access – Own Data”.  Whereas with a supervisor, you may want to set theirs to “Full Access – All Data” so that they can see the cards created for everyone.  Or, if you want them to see the data but not be able to make changes to it, you can set it to “Read Only”.

 

  • No Access (User does not see any data including the Menu/field item.)
  • Full Access – All Data (User can see and edit all records created by them and other Users.)
  • Full Access – Own Data (User can see and edit all records created only by them.)
  • Read Only (User can see all records created by them and others but cannot edit records.)

 

Once you have revised/created the Roles, be sure to apply the correct Users to the Roles.  You can do this within the Menu > Directory > Select Record > Role.  If the user is already logged in, they will need to logout and sign in again for the changes to take effect.

Read More

Assigned Projects and Default Projects are great tools that help you limit the amount of data you and your employees see by only showing you the data that you need/want to see.

NOTE: You should NOT Assign a project or Default Project to you or anyone else who should see ANY data that pertains to other records or if you are frequently moving from one project to another.

Default Project

The Default Project is (shown below) is set in the menu bar.  Once set, you are telling the system to only show you data that pertains to that project.  If you are working the same project for a long period of time, this is a great way to ensure that you are only seeing data for that project. 

To assign a Default Project, click on the down arrow and select a project from the list.
To remove the Default Project selection, click on the down arrow and select the currently selected project to unselect it.

 

Assigned Project(s)

An Assigned Project is a project that your user should be able to see within their account.  Often times projects are assigned to supervisors and this allows you to ensure that your supervisor only sees the data that pertains to those projects.  It also helps ensure that your sub-contractors only see data for projects they are part of.  As an Admin, you should not assign yourself to a project.  Too often this is done and then an item such as an Estimate is created and saved and then it appears to vanish.  This happens because the Estimate is part of a project that you are not allowed to see/access.  The data is there, but your current settings do not allow you to see it.

To add an Assigned Project, go to the Menu > Directory > Users record.  Click Edit and then click on Assigned Projects.  Click on the project(s) that you want the user to see within Contractor Foreman.  Then Save.
To remove an Assigned Project selection, go back to the users Directory record and edit it.  Click the Assigned Projects button and then click the projects to unselect them.

NOTE: If you want to see ALL projects, do not select any project in the list.

Read More

Roles & Security Settings

Contractor Foreman has Role settings to help with security and organization. Roles are typically set for a group or type of employee. As an example, Administrator, Laborer, Estimator, or Project Manager. Contractor Foreman comes with preset/default roles but you can also set your own custom roles. Roles are located toward bottom of menu under Settings.

To Modify an Existing Role

Go to main menu, towards the bottom click on settings then Roles. Here you will see a list of existing roles. On the Role you want to modify click the green pencil icon at end of that row. This brings you to the edit screen. In the top section you can rename the role, set the status and add notes. In the bottom section you can modify what features (all menu items are listed) that Role has access to. There are three choices, No Access, Full Access and Read Only.

No Access: The user will not be able to view that feature or see the menu item.

Full Access: The user will have all rights to view and modify the Feature or record.

Read Only Access: The user will be able to see the record or feature but will not be able to modify it.

To modify the selected role simple click on one of the three columns for each feature that you wish to set the permissions to.

When complete click the submit button at bottom of screen to save your changes.

Tips and suggestions for Roles:

Review a few of the preset roles Contractor Foreman comes pre-set with to get a feel for how they are set up. Try using a few of those to get going before setting your own.

As an example for Estimators. To keep things easier for them, simply turn off the items they do not need to use such as Daily Logs, User and App settings, Punchlists etc.

Read More

User Settings:

This is your personal account information.  Your name cannot be edited from this screen.  Instead, the account Admin must do so from the Directory > Employee screen.

App Settings:

Tax Rates: Add your local state and any other tax you need to account for here. You can have as many tax rates as you need. Tax Rates are an optional section

Message Introduction: Here you can set default messages to go on your Estimates and Invoices. These appear in the body of the emails when using Send PDF function in Contractor Foreman. We have set these default messages to help you get started quicker and you can change these at any time.

Terms and Conditions: These appear at the bottom of each Estimate and Invoice PDF created in Contractor Foreman. We have set these default messages to help you get started quicker and you can change these at any time.

General Settings: Use these setting to designate your Currency, Date and Number format.

GPS Radio Button: Use this option to turn on GPS tracking for employee time cards. This does not constantly track using GPS. It only logs locations when clicking start and stop on a Timecard. This prevents battery drain.

Safety Topic Language: Use this to select either English or Spanish languages for the Safety Topics we provide.

Safety Topic Categories: Here you can use the drop down to select the topics that are most pertinent to your firm. Placing a check in the check box makes that category available.

You can also use the Show me all topics slider to have access to all topics regardless of trade. Example: “if the slider is off. you will only see the topics assigned to the trade you select.  If the slider is on, you will see every topic (even those that are not assigned to a trade).  This is so you would have access to topics such as Africanized Honey Bee’s.

 

Read More